News & Announcements

In a recent study published in Soft Matter, Benjamin Yellen, associate professor of mechanical engineering and materials science at Duke University, and his colleagues, 

The Research Triangle MRSEC (RT-MRSEC) Industry Poster Symposium workshop took place in the Hunt library on NC State’s Centennial Campus on Feb 12, 2015.  The goal of the symposium was to build bridges between academia and industry through an open forum between participating industrial panel members and the RT-MRSEC community.  In addition, there was a poster presentation by RT-MRSEC graduate students that allowe

Nan Li and Wei-Chen (Ivy) Wu won Silver Graduate Student Awards @ the Fall Materials Research Science Meeting in Boston, MA! The Graduate Student Awards are intended to honor and encourage graduate students whose academic achievements and current matierials research display a high level of excellence and distinction.

Jianfeng Zang, former MRSEC Fellow, was a Poster Award Winner at the Fall 2014 Materials Research Society meeting.

Dr. Zang studied under Professor Xuanhe Zhao, and just began a new position as a tenure-track professor at the Innovative Institute, Huazhong University of Science & Technology. Congratulations to Dr. Zhao and Dr. Zang!

Poster title: Self-Organizesd Origami of Large-Area Graphene and Graphene Papers Enables On-Demand Multifunctionalities. Dr. Zang, and Professor Xuanhe Zhao

Two faculty members from Duke University’s Pratt School of Engineering have been named fellows of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI): Robert Calderbank, the Charles S.

Prof. Jan Genzer has been appointed as the new Co-Director of the Research Triangle MRSEC.

Prof. Carol Hall, the previous Co-Director at NC State University stepped down as of August 31, 2014 and we thank her for 4 years of dedicated service to our Center.

Durham, NC-based Sentilus is led by Prof. Ashutosh Chilkoti, Chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering and Director of the Center for Biologically Inspired Materials and Material Systems at Duke University, and co-founder and CEO Angus Hucknall. Sentilus was formed in 2012 with the goal of developing applications of a non-fouling surface coating developed by Prof. Chilkoti.

Abstract: We present a method to control the interfacial energy of a liquid metal via electrochemical deposition (or removal) of an oxide layer on its surface. Unlike conventional surfactants, this approach can tune the interfacial tension of a metal significantly (from ∼7× that of water to near zero), rapidly, and reversibly using only modest voltages.

Koohee Han, NCSU, led the team to win Best Poster Award. Congratulations to Koohee and all collaborators, including Wyatt Shields, Duke University, Bharti Bhuvnesh, NCSU & Nidhi Diwakar, Worchester Polytechnic Institute. In addition, Jessica Nash and Nan Li, RT-MRSEC students from NCSU, also received awards in this category. The students in this category study under Drs. Yara Yingling, Orlin Velev & Gabriel Lopez.

Professor Carol Hall has been selected to receive the 2015 Foundations of Molecular Modeling and Simulation (FOMMS) Medal.